Roasted Roma Tomato & Roasted Bell Pepper Soup

It’s that time of year. The anticipation of Spring is making the nights seem longer and the weekends more pleasant. But then it happens… a bout of snow to remind you that you’re not quite there yet. Old man winter is still in season, so I wanted to share one of my favorite healthy soup recipes that is also a winner in the spring and summer. We’re almost there! 

I love using Roma Tomatoes because of their flavor. I prefer a seedless soup, so I strain the tomatoes well after roasting them. The amount you need will greatly depend on how much soup you wish to make. I use twice the amount of tomatoes to bell peppers and love the combination of roasted and sauteed tastes.

Even though it may seem time consuming, take the time to roast the tomatoes and caramelize the bell peppers. The roasting and caramelization really help bring out the wonderful flavors and you can freeze any left-overs for a quick healthy meal another time!

You will need:

Large Tomatoes
Red Bell Peppers (I use half the amount of bell peppers than I do tomatoes. So for every 10 tomatoes I use 5 peppers)
Fresh Garlic cloves, to taste
White Onion(s)
Cinnamon and Coriander (to taste)
Fresh Basil
Stock (vegetable or chicken)
(optional: fresh Mozzarella di Bufala)

  •  Cut the bell peppers into slices and sauté over medium-low heat for about an hour with a little sugar so they caramelize nicely
  • Halve the tomatoes and roasting them in the oven for circa 20 minutes on medium heat. Once done, I like to pass the tomatoes through a strainer so that there are no seeds in my soup!
  • Prepare some stock in a separate pot and set aside
  • Start by browning the fresh garlic and onions in a bit of butter in a large soup pot. Once caramelized, add the roasted tomato puree (in my case, seedless) and sautéed peppers. Stir well for a few minutes, before adding just enough stock to cover the vegetables. 
  • Let this boil for just a few minutes. 
  • Add your dried spices (cinnamon and coriander) 
  • Puree well with an electric hand mixer.
  • Top with fresh basil. Some shredded mozzarella di bufala is a nice addition also

Roasted Tomato Soup Passports and Pamplemousse

Roasted Tomato Soup by Passports and Pamplemousse

2 thoughts on “Roasted Roma Tomato & Roasted Bell Pepper Soup

  1. Oh Eva, I do love your posts! These lovely photos just make my mouth water! My little Mack and I were in a grocery store the other day and there were samples of roasted pepper and tomato soup (jarred) and my little man LOVED the soup. This surprised me, since he’s a bit of a picky eater. Mental note: find a recipe for this soup! Voila, you came to my rescue. Thank you!

    1. Hi Amy! Nice to hear from you. Thanks for your kind words! This soup is fantastic and so healthy too! It takes a bit of time to make but I make HUGE batches and freeze some portions for later. I enjoy this soup in the summer too as it’s light and fresh. Enjoy xo

Leave a comment